Image

The tall ship Belem arrives in London for the 2012 Olympics

I’m not a sports photographer, so didn’t get the chance to get into the Olympic stadiums, but I have been working on several projects around the Olympics for the Port of London Authority. Because London revolves around the Thames, The Port of London Authority (PLA) has seen a huge amount of shipping coming into and out of the Capitol.

I was lucky enough to be asked to capture the moment the French tall ship the Belem came into the city. The Belem is a three masted sailing barque from the the 19th century. She is a training ship these days, but still as beautiful.

It was due to arrive at 8.15pm and the day was clear and blue so the sunset was set to be perfect. I couldn’t have asked for better light, wind and setting. The breeze was coming from the east ensuring the Belem had her sails out, just as the sun hit the top of Tower Bridge.

In the next day or so I will put up an Olympic based gallery on my website.

