A 180° image using Photosynch

A 180° image using Photosynch

Over the festive period I gave my camera and camera arm a rest and was playing around with a new Iphone app (well new to me) called Photosynth. It’s one of those stitching programmes and gives the user the opportunity of creating 180° images (or even more if you want to.

I’ve been using it a fair bit while I’ve been out and about and I really love it. It creates superb results. Down by the sea, of course, it cannot produce perfect images as the wave movement creates an impossible task for the software to reproduce, but on Christmas Day I was down at Seatown Beach in Dorset and got some very pleasing pictures.

I’ve also used it at West Bay, where the new David Tennant series Broadchurch has been filmed.

It doesn’t really have much commercial application, except when searching out new locations, but creating panoramic pictures is fun.

Photosynch is a simple app to use, its free,  and on the iphone screen you can view the pictures full size and scroll around them. They are impressive to look at on a small screen. So if you have an iphone (they probably do it for Andriod and windows too) download the App and have a play around.

Panoramic view of Weymouth Harbour

Panoramic view of Weymouth Harbour

 

photo 2

West Bay on not such a lovely day

