© Gavin Parsons. All rights reserved

© Gavin Parsons. All rights reserved

There are photo shoots that can be done at any time… almost. I’m talking outdoors, of course. Inside shoots really can be done at any time, when the photographer (that’s me) has full control of the lighting.

However, outside things do get a bit trickier. I can, for example, sit and wait for something to happen, which can be any time of day. I can also use the light I’m given and work with it as best I can, or add a touch of flash light to fulfill my brief. However,  sun set and sun rise briefs are altogether different. These I have absolutely no control over. No one does. The sun breaks the horizon at a set time for sure, but the atmospheric conditions are so random that you just have to get up and see what it’ll be like.

© Gavin Parsons. All rights reserved

© Gavin Parsons. All rights reserved

Take my most recent foray as an example. Mid September in the UK, should be a time for misty evenings and mornings. That’s what I hoped for. I started with sun set as it was easier than getting at at 5.45am. The day had been warm, sunny with just the right amount of cloud cover. Come sunset though and a massive bank of cloud sat in the western sky. The sun dipped, the light got lush and then it all fizzled out like a torch with a dead battery. It faded and died. Oh well. There was always the sunrise.

© Gavin Parsons. All rights reserved

© Gavin Parsons. All rights reserved

A misty morning was what I was after. I almost threw my iphone across the room when the alarm went at 5.45am, but I knew I needed to be up and out. Luckily my chosen location is a mere 10 minutes in the car. I got there as the light in the east was starting to glow. The sun was coming up and the clouds turned a lovely red and then puff, the sun came up and into another bank of cloud. A north west wind had also picked up and there was no mist, no magical hour. It was a magical 5 minutes. That’s all I got. My shot will have to stay in my head for the moment. I hope the conditions improve next week.

But then that’s why picking up a camera is easy, taking stunning pictures is hard.

 

